Start of a Decade

2020. A new year. A new decade. A time to reflect. A time to set goals. A time to pat oneself on the back. A time to share these pictures, taken at sunrise at Cape Spear, the most easterly point in North America, in late October. A time to administer a firm kick in the pants to myself.

I have not been blogging. I have made four quilts this fall, as well as a top and a number of small items, but they were all presents and could not be revealed. I made a set of placemats but didn’t take pictures.

There was a bit of Christmas knitting for little people. The sweater ornament pattern was from Kathy Lewinski of JustCraftyEnough.com. The addition of the initials was a nod to Mrs. Weasley of Harry Potter fame, who knit scratchy, initialled, sweaters for her children.

There was a bit of knitting for a new family member, my daughter’s girlfriend, who joined our slightly belated Christmas celebrations. Her stocking was made to match Maura’s, knit 29 years ago. I had to dig to find the ancient Mary Maxim pattern. Truth be told, I dug and couldn’t find it, but it was available online for a couple dollars.

There was a Sew Together bag for my daughter Margaret, made from fabric designed by fellow guild member Julia Wentzell of  Briar Hill Designs. Margaret does a lot of garment sewing, knitting and embroidery, so I thought she might like a little tool bag. 81699044_10218740762724739_939954451723059200_nJames, Margaret’s husband, couldn’t be left out. He got a cushion cover to remind him of their cat, who went on vacation to Maura and is now with me. That’s a story for another time. Here’s the top, made from a pattern in Make Modern, issue 5, called Geometric Kitty, and brought to my attention by the Clever Chameleon. 81559833_10218740783325254_2220380186589790208_nAnd there was a hot water bottle cover, of my own design. I prequilted the flannel before I cut out the cover, putting a cat face in the stitching. In retrospect, it would have been more effective had I appliquéd and embroidered the face. That’ll be a tip for the next time. This one is done. The slot for the bottle is up nice and high so it can be filled without removing the bottle, at Maura’s request.

The quilts will get separate blog posts over the next little while, when I get my act together. In the meantime, I need to sew. There are a half dozen tops to quilt, which have been on hold partly because of technical long arm issues. There are two more tops that need something done to them, one to make it more interesting, one to make it more functional.

The real decision is this year’s focus. I know I’d like to use some scraps. Make something from nothing. On New Year’s day, I tidied my cutting table of scraps from the hot water bottle and made a pouch. 81083459_10218741118533634_7123138900331069440_nThen I got into my orphan block box and started a charity quilt. It needs to be a bit longer, but here it is. I’ll be ready for the next request for a comfort quilt. Maybe the visually impaired will need one. Truth be told, I like it, but it is BUSY.81799227_10218741115733564_3627642112503185408_n

Last year I planned to work from my library. I didn’t do that, but I’d still like to get into some of my marvellous books. I’d like to explore new techniques. Try new colour schemes. Design some quilts. Stay away from sew alongs that explore other people’s ideas and see if I can come up with some myself. Yesterday I unearthed a project I had started several years ago, and made a few more blocks.We’ll see where it goes.

Firstly, I need to get started on a project for our guild special show in May, which features men’s ties and grey fabric. And make a few baby quilts. Oh yes, and there is my actual job, which might just be in its final year. I haven’t been working for quite as long as these fossils have been around, but almost.

I took the pictures this fall at Mistaken Point, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, a couple hours drive from my home. It is the best place on earth to see the seabed of 565 million years ago, especially in the fall when the sun is low, creating fabulous shadows.

Tomorrow, Christmas ends. On Tuesday, the decorations come down, and the New Year starts in earnest. More walking, less eating, sewing with intent… May you all have a wonderful year of health and happiness and quilt making.

81445060_10218740753364505_4443561413411078144_n

25 thoughts on “Start of a Decade

  1. Well I’m very late reading this, but I’ve saved it in my inbox, and I’m so glad I had some quiet time this morning where I did do a little email reading because this post–! I love everything about it; it’s like we just sat and had a little chat and coffee together. One day soon I will be on/in(?) Newfoundland, and I hope to get to that easternmost UNESCO point. Ethereal, at sunrise. As for the quilty stuff, you are amazing, and with working full-time as well! I’ve wanted to make a sew-together bag for a while now. Love the kitty quilt!

    Like

  2. I particularly love the hot water bottle cover–I really need to make myself one! I think that every time I use eh hot water bottle, then forget until I use it the next time. You’ve been making some lovely things! Happy New Year!

    Like

    1. We had a sheep water bottle cover that my daughters both loved. It was made of fake fur except for a silky black head and legs (unstuffed and sewn into the seam). It was cute and cozy and easy to fill, since the opening was at the sheep’s neck. This one isn’t as cute, but it is a prototype for the future. Happy New Year to you too, Emily.

      Like

  3. So much beauty and excitement in your work, Ann. How did you manage to keep it under wraps (pun intended) all this time :-p Hey, the world is busy, the newsrooms are too busy (don’t even get me started) and it is not a surprise that it is reflected in our work. Love the busyness – so much to admire. I am excited about your impending retirement – a full-time blogger means more posts from you and that is definitely joyful.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Preeti. We’re not discussing the news. I have definitely got mixed feelings about retirement. I love my work, the people I work with, and the money I make. Having said that, I think the time is fast approaching that it will be more of a pleasure to have the luxury of more time for my hobbies and friends.

      Like

  4. Was so happy to see a post from you, and then of course an even bigger smile to see the cat patchwork that we both succumbed to. Wishing you all the best with thinking about retirement plans and the New Year in general. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks, Dione! I’ve made that cat twice now, once in marmalade for a friend’s birthday, and this tabby. It’s a great pattern that I’d never have found, had it not been for you. Happy New Year to you too.

      Like

  5. Well, this was a delightfully fun post to read! You’ve been busy over the holiday season. Those blocks you pulled out and made a few more – oh my – love love love it! I hope you keep going with it!

    Like

  6. You have been busy! I absolutely love the bright happy colours of your Orphan Blocks quilts. It will definitely bring “comfort” to its recipient.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Margie! I have indeed been busy; had a lot of quilting fun this fall. Glad you like the Orphan Block quilt. This present one’s a bit much; I think I’ll add something top and bottom to calm it a little. Happy New Year.

      Like

  7. I know what you mean about quilt alongs and exploring other peoples ideas rather than your own…..I need to do the same thing but of course I am working on two more as we go into the new year.

    Like

    1. Happy New Year, Lisa! I love the fun of sew alongs, but have found they hijack my quilting time. They are just SO tempting; I have one on the go myself. Maybe when we retire there’ll be time for everything.

      Like

  8. Hi Ann! I wondered what you’ve been up to. I recall baby quilts being made using some scraps from the wedding quilts. I knew you had it going on though – love your village and the snow throughout. I look forward to seeing your finishes and that routine is returning for all. Happy New Year to you. ~smile~ Roseanne

    Like

  9. Hi Ann!
    You have been busy!!! I can’t believe you took the time to actually KNIT another stocking!!! Oh my! I just have a few extras and the extra people get whatever is extra – nothing special.
    Looking forward to seeing your quilts in the future!
    Happy Quilting! 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment